FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

How do I remove files from my Inbox Storage?

You can easily remove files from your Inbox Storage through the desktop application or your online account. Step-by-step guides for each method are described below.

GUIDE FOR DELETING FILES USING THE INBOX STORAGE DESKTOP APPLICATION

  1. Open the Inbox Storage desktop application that you have downloaded onto your computer
  2. Go to the “My Storage” tab.
  3. Right-click on the file you want to remove and select “Delete” from the dropdown menu

    IS_deletefile_1

  4. Select the file group or files you want to backup and then click on "OK".
  5. In the Inbox Storage desktop application go to the “Preferences” tab and click on the “Go to Settings” button.

    IS_deletefile_2_settings

  6. Under the “General” settings tab make sure the “Show deleted items” box is marked, click the “Apply” button, and then click the “OK” button.

    IS_deletefile_3_show-deleted

  7. Go back to the “My Storage” tab and the deleted item now appears grayed-out. This means it is set for deletion and you will need to confirm permanent removal of the file. This extra level of data protection helps against unwanted deletion of files.
  8. To permanently delete the file from your Inbox Storage, right-click the grayed-out file and select “Permanently delete” from the dropdown menu.

    IS_deletefile_4_permanent

  9. Selecting this will delete files from your Inbox Storage computer folder and online account. A browser refresh might be needed.

GUIDE FOR DELETING FILES USING THE INBOX STORAGE ONLINE ACCOUNT

  1. Click on “Files” at the top of the page.
  2. Click on the file you want to remove and in the left-hand blue command box select the “Delete this file” option.

    IS_deletefile_5_online1

  3. A warning about file deletion appears, click the “Yes, Delete File” button.

    IS_deletefile_6_online2

  4. Now the item set for deletion appears grayed-out and will be automatically removed after 30 days. This provides your data with short-term protection against unwanted deletion. During the 30-day period, you can recover (undelete) the file unless you have confirmed its permanent removal.
  5. To permanently remove the file immediately, click on it and select “Remove this file” in the left-hand blue command box.
  6. The warning to permanently remove this file appears, click on “Yes”.
  7. Now, the file is permanently deleted from your Inbox Storage online account and your computer’s Inbox Storage folder.
  8. If there was no synchronization at the time you deleted the file using your online account, then the file will remain in your computer’s Inbox Storage folder until synchronized. Once synchronized, the file will be permanently removed from your computer’s Inbox Storage folder.

Go back to FAQs